Skip to main content

A day in the life.... Erin Locke

Joining us for our team Q&A this month is Erin Locke.  Erin's been very generous in her answers and we are very grateful to her for sharing these with us.

How would our readers know you already and can you describe what you do for YPWD?

I’ve been with the charity for nearly five years and I was initially known for establishing YPWD in East Berkshire working alongside Karen and Debbie. My role is Assistant Project Respite Worker which involves the planning and running of all our workshops across the County. 

What would you say is the most enjoyable part of your job?
I really enjoy the social side of it. Meeting up with everyone at workshops, having a nice chat and getting to know each other well

What would you say is the most challenging part of the job?
Taking on a new workshop activity I know little about. I’ve currently been tasked with running a gardening workshop and I’m not green figured at all. But hopefully over the coming weeks that will soon change! 

What has been the biggest challenge for you in delivering support digitally?
The fact that only one person can talk at a time on Zoom makes it really hard to interact as a group. My WiFi at home has played havoc at times, freezing me on workshops or throwing me out altogether!

If you had to describe the charity to someone in three words – what words would they be and why?

Fun - always offering a wide range of fun activities. 
Friendly - Everyone connected to the charity is friendly and welcoming.
Supportive – The ongoing support to carers and their loved ones.

Where have you worked before YPWD and what did you do?
Before my role at YPWD I worked in domiciliary care for many years. I then went on to work as a personal assistant to a lady with young onset Alzheimer’s before joining the Charity in 2016. 

If you were in charge of the world for just one day what is the one thing you’d encourage everyone to do?

This would have to be for everyone to remove their phones for a day. We are all so consumed by our phones and social media these days we have forgotten what it’s like to live without them. 

What is the most interesting place that you have visited in the world and why?

I think it would have to be Dubai. I first visited on my Honeymoon in 2013 and again in 2018 with my children. Everything is on a different scale there, the architecture is out of this world, the shopping malls are amazing and the weather is always guaranteed. 

What would you say is your most treasured memory and why?

The birth of my children. Nothing will ever beat the memory of bringing them into the world and the instant love you have for them. 

Are you able to tell us what your favourite film, TV show or book is and why?

I think my favourite film has got to be Dirty Dancing. I just love all the music, dancing, and romance.

Do you have any interests, hobbies, life experiences or skills that would surprise people

My hobby has always been Netball. I started from a young age and played for Berkshire in my teens. I stopped playing for a local team a few years ago to have a baby (who is now two and a half) so I would really like to get back into it as it’s such a great team sport.

Cat or dog?

Dog. I have two Shih Tzu’s Called Charlie & Maggie and they’ve been a big part of our family for nearly 12 years.

If you had the chance to give your younger self a piece of advice what would that be and why?

I think it would be to travel and see as much of the world as you can. I was young settling down with a family so I never had the chance to travel as much as I would have liked. 


* indicates required
Opt-in preferences

Subscriptions are covered by our privacy policy.

From Facebook


From Twitter